Show Notes

Many documentaries use archival footage in different ways, sometimes the entire film is archival and other times it is interwoven with new footage, or altered or animated to create a completely new and different work. This week we chat a bit about all of these variations and review the recent archival masterpiece, THEY SHALL NOT GROW OLD and Chris interviews Todd Douglas Miller of APOLLO 11.


Group Review Documentary:

THEY SHALL NOT GROW OLD (2018) / UK, New Zealand (Director: Peter Jackson / Producers: Peter Jackson, Clare Olssen)

Now playing on Amazon, Vudu, YouTube & Google Play


Film Featured in Interview Portion:

APOLLO 11 (2019) / USA (Director: Todd Douglas Miller / Producers: Todd Douglas Miller, Evan Krauss, Thomas Peterson)

Now playing on Amazon, Vudu, YouTube & Google Play


Other Films Mentioned:

Chicago 10 / 2007 (Director: Brett Morgen)

Decasia / 2003 (Director: Bill Morrison)

Dinosaur 13 / 2014 (Director: Todd Douglas Miller)

Eyes on the Prize / 1987 (Creator: Henry Hampton)

Gahanna Bill / 2001 (Director: Todd Douglas Miller)

The Gleaners and I / 2001 (Director: Agnes Varda)

Grizzly Man / 2005 (Director: Werner Herzog)

Harvard Beats Yale 29-29 / 2008 (Director: Kevin Rafferty)

Holy Hell / 2016 (Director: William Francesco Allen)

King in the Wilderness / 2018 (Director: Peter Kunhardt)

Lorena / 2019 (Director: Joshua Rofe)

Los Angeles Plays Itself / 2004 (Director: Thom Andersen)

Los Reyes / 2018 (Directors: Bettina Perut, Iv?n Osnovikoff)

A Movie / 1958 (Director: Bruce Conner)

Night & Fog / 1955 (Director: Alain Resnais)Rat Film / 2017 (Director: Theo Anthony)

Scaring the Fish / 2008 (Director: Todd Douglas Miller)

Tower / 2016 (Director: Keith Maitland)



00:45 - Intro conversation about documentary use of archival footage

20:55 - Group review of THEY SHALL NOT GROW OLD

30:29 - Chris interviews Todd Douglas Miller, director of APOLLO 11

50:35 - Doc Talk


Hammer to Nail Review Links by Christopher Llewellyn Reed:


Film Festival Today Interview Transcription by Christopher Llewellyn Reed:





Artwork by Hilary Campbell

Intro music by Jeremiah Moore

Editing by Christopher Llewellyn Reed

Transitional music by BELLS (thanks to Christopher Ernst)