Show Notes

This week, we review ONE OF US, an observational film about three people in the process of leaving their Hasidic communities. Then, we all hop on the phone with Leah Warshawski director of BIG SONIA to talk about her filmmaking process and telling such a personal story.


Group Review Documentary:

ONE OF US / 2017 (Directors / Producers: Heidi Ewing & Rachel Grady)

Available to stream on Netflix


Film Featured in Interview Portion:

BIG SONIA / 2016 (Directors: Todd Soliday, Leah Warshawski)


Other Films Mentioned:

Nanook of the North / 1922 (Director: Robert J. Flaherty)

Quest / 2017 (Director: Jonathan Olshefski)

I Am Another You / 2017 (Director: Nanfu Wang)

The Blood is at the Doorstep / 2017 (Director & Producer: Erik Ljung)

Do Not Resist / 2016 (Director: Craig Atkinson)

Cartel Land / 2015 (Director: Matthew Heineman)

City of Ghosts / 2017 (Director: Matthew Heineman)

Crisis Behind a Presidential Commitment / 1963 (Director: Robert Drew)

Thin Blue Line / 1988 (Director: Errol Morris)

Strad Style / 2017 (Director: Stefan Avalos)

Norman Lear: Just Another Version of You / 2016 (Directors: Heidi Ewing & Rachel Grady)

Devil?s Playground / 2002 (Director: Lucy Walker)

Bacon and God?s Wrath / 2015 (Director: Sol Friedman)

Novitiate / ?2017 (Director: Margaret Betts)

Menashe / 2017 (Director: Joshua Z. Weinstein)

Promises / 2001 (Directors: B. Z. Goldberg, Justine Shapiro & Carlos Bolado)

Love Means Zero / 2017 (Director: Jason Kohn)

Don't Stop Believin': Everyman's Journey / 2012 (Director: Ramona S. Diaz)

I Beat Mike Tyson / 2012 (Director: Joshua Z. Weinstein)

Holocaust Survivor Band / 2015 (Director: Joshua Z. Weinstein)

The Last Laugh / 2016 (Director: Ferne Pearlstein)

Drivers Wanted / 2012 (Director: Joshua Z. Weinstein)

Ingrid / 2018 (Director: Morrisa Maltz)



10:07 - Group Review of ONE OF US

22:10 - Group Interview w Leah Warshawski, director of BIG SONIA

44:55 - Doc Talk


Hammer to Nail Links by Christopher Llewellyn Reed:





Artwork by Hilary Campbell

Intro music by Jeremiah Moore

Transitional music by BELLS (thanks to Christopher Ernst)